•  Mystery Guild Book Club
•  Buy Books
•  Buy Games

Using Discussion

Registering (FREE—required to post)

• Subscribe   • Edit Posts   • Personal Profile

Customization & Tools (For Members)

[F] Mystery Net Community  / Writing Mysteries  / Generally Speaking...  /

Should We Give The Public What It Wants?

Gervase Charmley - 12:18pm Oct 15, 1998 PST

The subject of this discussion will be quite simple. Since all of us are members of the public (I hope) we shall just say what sort of mystery we want to read. If you think someone else has taste so bad that it oughta be exorcised, say so. And, why not say what you think the GENERAL public wants to read.

Oke. That was the posh bit. Really, I'm a prospective crime author, and I'd like to know how to pitch my story. Low, yes, commercial, yes. Sensibe? Only time will tell. If you see a book on a bookstall with my name on it, take the answer to the last question but one as 'yes'.

_Sunshine_ - 09:18am Oct 23, 1998 PST(#1 of 32)
...redefining Normal, one day at a time.

Hmmm. That's a good question. I just write what I want to read, and other people seem to enjoy it. Never really sat down and thought it out.

For myself, I don't really care what a book is about or whether it could happen in real life. I want a book with characters I like, who interact in a way that I can relate to and be amused by. I also LOVE suspense, as I think everyone does.

One thing I absolutely HATE is to guess something before the "detective" does. If I can see it, he/she should be able to, and if they don't - I don't even bother with the rest of the book. Cross the writer off my list, move on.

That's it in a nutshell. I'm looking forward to what others have to say about this.

Rob Lewis - 07:48pm Oct 23, 1998 PST(#2 of 32)
ICQ#31475045

Shouldn't this be titled "what DOES the public want?"

Gervase Charmley - 06:12am Oct 26, 1998 PST(#3 of 32)

Not so far as I'm concerned.

Alex Dent - 06:27am Oct 26, 1998 PST(#4 of 32)

Ouch - meow, Rob.