Buy through our affiliates:
•  Mystery Guild Book Club
•  Buy Books
•  Buy Games

Using Discussion

Registering (FREE—required to post)

• Subscribe   • Edit Posts   • Personal Profile

Customization & Tools (For Members)

[F] Mystery Net Community  / Mystery Greats  / Agatha Christie  / Informational Discussions  /

Issues and themes through Christie's work

Hey all! I am currently in my final year at uni and one of my courses is crime and detective fiction. I need some help thinking of a area/theme/issue to write my Christie assessed essay on, and the books that are relevent to that theme etc. I've read about 6 or 7 Christie's (loved them all) but i need some help from people with a wider knowledge than I have. Thankyou!!

Previous MessagesEarliest MessagesOutlineRecent Messages (19 previous messages)
Mark B - 12:23pm Nov 16, 2004 PST(#20 of 30)

I have just re-read Ordeal by Innocence. This has been one of my favorites in the past but the theme of adopted children that is so prominent here is starting to bother me. Christie sure seemed to have disapproved either of adoption or at least of women who have given up their children for adoption. She says several time, with respect to the children Rachel Argyle adopted, "She's not their real mother" or "she's not my real mother" in very negative terms. I noticed this also in Mrs. McGinty's dead with reference to both Robin Upward and Maureen Summerhayes. I never remember in any of the Christie biographies any event that would cause her to have these strong negative feelings about adoption. I wonder why?

DeeGee - 12:25pm Nov 16, 2004 PST(#21 of 30)
A birth certificate shows you were born. A death certificate shows you have died. A photo album shows you have lived.

Funnily enough I seem to remember something similar about this in something else that I've read by AC, the title escapes me now..

But I'm pretty sure it was Poirot..

Missy Sweesy - 11:49am Nov 21, 2004 PST(#22 of 30)